My Friend Emily

This is my friend Emily. When it is raining and no one wants to come out and play, Emily is there. Emily works with me to practice various photographic techniques. Today she is posing while I figure out Rembrandt lighting. Rembrandt almost always painted in a distinctive style when doing portraits in his studio. A very dramatic lighting set up that has adapted well to photography. They way to tell Rembrandt style is to look at the shadow cast by the nose. It should connect to the shadow of the jaw.

Shouldn’t we all have an air of mystery about us?

One Response to “My Friend Emily”

  1. Nice Dana. I’ve had Rembrandt lighting explained on video but this is a great visual aid to help me understand what to look for. Thank you for an informative post.

    Best
    Dave

Leave a Reply

